Samichlaus Classic

Beer

Samichlaus Classic

Brewery

Eggenberg Castle Brewery (Vorchdorf, Upper Austria)

Review

Samichlaus is noted in the Guinness Book of World Records as one of the strongest beers at 14% alcohol. It’s a very unique, smooth start with a cream taste.

It has a little less carbonation than I generally prefer. The body is thin, with a light hoppy/cream note.

The aftertaste is a smooth cream note with a strong alcohol burn.

Rating

On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the pinnacle best of beers, I rate Samiclaus a 4. I could only stand about half of the bottle. It’s a bit too much alcohol, coupled with a cream flavor that I just can’t stand. I much give it kudos, though, as being one of the most unique beers I’ve ever had. It was worth trying, but I’ll never buy it again.

Notes

To shed light on my rating, I consider a 5 to be worth buying again, and certainly worth drinking again. In perspective, I rate Coors Light a 2.

Categories: Austrian, Beer | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.